CPM’s: Undereducated & Inferior Midwives

Here is a quote I came across today:

From a certain “Dr. Amy” :

Kelly:

“So what’s your take on CPM’s?”

Amy:

“Grossly undereducated, undertrained and lacking experience. A inferior class of midwife that would not be considered competent by the standards of any other incustrialized country.”

Interesting. Alarming. Frustrating. Maddening. Many OB’s couldn’t even pass the NARM exam! Undereducated? “An inferior calss of midwife”??? I posted several comments to this blog. Intelligent, thoughtful, respectful posts asking questions about her assertions concerning homebirth safety. Those comments were (imagine that!) deleted soon after I posted them. When I got angry and posted a comment about them being deleted, guess what!!? THAT post stayed up there, making me look like a lunatic.

It would be funny if it weren’t so incredibly insulting. She obviously has an ax to grind when it comes to homebirth and where she gets her numbers for infant mortality is beyond me.  She likes CNM’s for hospital birth (and why not?) but not for homebirth under any circumstances. You just read (above) what she thinks about CPM’s.

I saw a t-shirt today that said, “You have the right to remain silent. Everything you say will be misquoted and used against you.” This incident made me want to go back and buy it.