I cried when i read this…

luke.jpg So much of this story is like my Luke’s story. He was dx’d with autism spectrum disorder at 20 months of age. “Early” the pdeiatrician said, and I had to fight like you-know-what to even get a referral for a developmental pediatrician then. I knew something was wrong a few months earlier, after his 15 month set of shots. I enrolled him in the Missouri “First Steps” program where he had numerous visits form physical, occupational and speech therapists weekly. I nearly forgot I had other children during that first year while I fought for him. Insurance. Assistive devices. Diet changes. Filtering through autism studies and “cures”. Trying to get him to sleep through the night. He once went 4 days straight without sleeping. I bought a little pop-up play tent and put a crib mattress inside. He slept for 20 hours straight in there, and most nights afterwards. He had sensory integration disorder and the open space that was his bed kept him on “high-alert”. The occupational therapis likened it to the feeling we have when we trip and are about to fall backwards.

For months no one would take me seriously. I switched pediatricians. She listened. She didn’t see it but she heard me and gave me a referral for services. I didn’t know what was wrong exactly but I knew something was. When I was pregannt with him I had a dream that there was something wrong with his eyes, and his feet. These were metaphores for what would happen to him. He walks a different path, he sees the world differently than we do. He is autistic.

When I first heard that vaccine might be causing autism, I stopped giving my children vaccines until I could make an informed decision one way or the other.  Recently they all went to public school for the first time in their lives (while I’m back in college, adjusting to single-again life and trying to make ends meet). The vaccine issue came front and center immediately. I was told they could not attend school unless they were fully immunized. Rather than fighting a battle I would not win on physical-harm grounds, I got religious excemption forms instead. And I do have a religious belief that precludes me from harming my child: Immunizations DO harm children. Maybe not all the time, but it’s a risk I have chosen not to take.

Here is an article and the entire court document, ver batum, by David Kirby, where the court found that vaccines cause significant harm to a child and the parents were awarded an undisclosed amount of compensation. Compensation. How much money does it take, I wonder, to compensate for the loss of a normal, healthy child?

ANALYSIS

Medical personnel at the Division of Vaccine Injury Compensation, Department of Health and Human Services (DVIC) have reviewed the facts of this case, as presented by the petition, medical records, and affidavits. After a thorough review, DVIC has concluded that compensation is appropriate in this case.In sum, DVIC has concluded that the facts of this case meet the statutory criteria for demonstrating that the vaccinations CHILD received on July 19, 2000, significantly aggravated an underlying mitochondrial disorder, which predisposed her to deficits in cellular energy metabolism, and manifested as a regressive encephalopathy with features of autism spectrum disorder. Therefore, respondent recommends that compensation be awarded to petitioners in accordance with 42 U.S.C. § 300aa-11(c)(1)(C)(ii).
 

Every parent in the nation should read this story, and contemplate whether or not there is a reason to question the enormous amounts of vaccines our children receive. HERE is the article, in it’s entirety. I find it keeps moving, so if it comes up as “File Not Found” then search for articles written by David Kirby.